Glastonbury 2010 – Part 2

Part One

So there’s music at Glastonbury, right?

Indeed there is.  I thought – being largely obsessed with music – that it would be the main highlight of the weekend, but there were simply too many memorable things aside from the Music to be able to pin down a ‘favourite side’ to the festival.

Nevertheless, Frank Turner was there, so he had to be seen.

I say it almost every time I see him, but I cannot help but beam with happiness for his success.  It feels like only a few years ago I dragged a mate to see him play in a pub to a handful of people with nothing more than an acoustic guitar.  this performance came off the back of a fortnight that saw him get his first Kerrang cover article and open for Green Day at Wembley f*cking stadium.

Now, instead of people reading my ‘Frank Turner Must Be Stopped’ t-shirt asking me who he was, other people have his shirts, other people give that glowing smile just by mentioning his name, which is why they put him on far too small a stage (The Queen’s Head) with the crowd spilling row upon row out of the tent.  They sang along to every single word and when he had finished 99% of them left as swiftly as they had arrived.  Great feeling, great songs.

I stayed for Tubelord, though in-between the sets was Tiffany Page, who was… wow. Um, musically, well she was okay, but… yeah. Wow. Who likes short shorts? Me. I do. I don’t wear them, but I do like them. It was great to see Tubelord again; now that their album has been out long enough for me to love in the face, it was good to have a singalong and headbang – there’s not much in the way of harder riffs at Glastonbury, otherwise it covers every possible musical style you can think of.

Photobucket Photobucket

There were a host of surprise appearances across the weekend, with loads of little tents and stages.  Some were on the larger stages, especially The Park stage.  Friday saw rumours flying about Thom Yorke.  So, unsurprisingly, I made sure I got down there!

When he got on stage the anticipation was high, but much as I love him I couldn’t help but laugh when for all the tension in the crowd, he played the first two slow, melancholy chords on the piano and the scouser behind me said aloud “This is going to be boring as hell, I’m going.”  Nevertheless, it was gorgeous, especially with the sun on the way down.  His own songs were special enough to hear, but then he reeled out Jonny Greenwood for a couple of his own songs, and then it turned into a mini Radiohead set, with Karma Police, Street Spirit and a phenomenal Idioteque!  Karma Police was pretty special, with the crowd singing the “For a minute there, I lost Myself” refrain long after it had finished, so much so it overpowered the next song, so he played the refrain again.  It also continued as people made their way from the stage.

Next up I went to see my boy Terry, who was here with a friend of his.  He’d just got himself a badass tattoo…

We checked out Shangri La and Arcadia (see the next blog), then I ended the day how I began it, with a set from Frank Turner!

It was in the incredibly hidden away Strummerville Campfire stage – a tiny bandstand next to a huge campfire where Joe Strummer used to camp.  Frank was… uh … Frank was hammered. It was hilarious.
“Who saw me at the Queen’s head earlier?”
“WHEEEYYY!”
“Yeaahhhh… this ish gonnabe much worse”

He hummed a few chords and got some lines wrong, but it was still lots of fun and a great way to end the day.  He then gloated that he was going back to a mate’s house, who had a bar in the garage and a jacuzzi, to which there was much booing from us smelly campers!

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

Saturday’s musical highlights were fewer, but pretty ace.
The Park’s special guests turned out to be Biffy bleedin’ Clyro!

The set was fantastic, it was one of the only points I got to mosh and get down the front.  And I also had a bit of a musicnerdgasm when I spotted the second guitarist.

That there’s Mike Vennart from Oceansize, one of my favouritestest bands in the eververse…
Ahem.

Catching up with mates and getting a place for Muse, I was subjected to more Scissor Sisters than I’d like to have been, but I couldn’t help but be impressed by how good they were with the crowd.  Then they reeled out Kylie and things got even camper.

Band of the festival, though, could only be Muse.

They seem to get better every time I see them, and this time I was approximately 400 miles from the stage!
Not that it really mattered, even being so far back, I got rid of all notions of being self-concious about one song in and decided to dance, mosh, pogo and sing as I saw fit, because the music made me do it!

I’m also glad that so far into their career and with so many good songs, they’re still playing Citizen Erased, a ludicrously heavy song. Lovely.

I was also chuffed that the new songs translate well live.
The Resistance was the first Muse album to disappoint me as they explored the vast recesses up their own bums.

But, on a huge stage; with gigantic screens and big frikkin lasers – the Queen rip-off of ‘United States Of Eurasia’ was born for a big stage and the Dr. Who theme that is ‘Uprising’ was excellently beefed up.  The increase in quality was across the board for the songs off The Resistance though, as ‘Undisclosed Desires’ was one of the best songs in the set.

When they came on for the encore, we all knew it would happen.
And we all knew which song they’d play


But that didn’t stop us all loving the appearance of U2’s Edge.
And witnessing them absolutely nail ‘Where The Streets Have No Name’.

It’s a memory that will stay with me. It was excellently done.

On Sunday I saw even fewer bands, but if you’re only seeing a few, it’s a good idea that one of them is Faithless.

Photobucket

Despite it being daylight and being an expensive taxi-ride’s distance from the stage again, it was phenomenal, and I finally got to really get my rave on.

Photobucket Photobucket

‘God Is A DJ’ and ‘Tarantula’ were outstanding.

Through most of the weekend I really wanted to see Orbital, it would be special. (and it was)
But I decided to go with Stevie Wonder.  I’m never going to go and see him in concert, so deemed it an opportunity not to be missed.

NOT A MISTAKE!

All the classics, only I wasn’t surrounded by townie morons drowning it out after a dull night out in the City Centre!
WIN!

He got Eavis onstage to sing ‘Happy Birthday’ with him.
It was pretty funny.

He looked so uncomfortable, and it became clear when he started singing.
Pretty much like one of The Wurzels.

No one cared, everyone was smiling wider than the headliner.

Danced my arse off, too.

So did everyone else.

Hope you’re enjoying it so far.
Two down, two to go.

One Response to Glastonbury 2010 – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Glastonbury 2010 – Part 3 « Suffice

Leave a Reply

